Weeping In the New Year

Cocktail by candle light 1: "With some of...

Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, 2011 is officially over.  Happy new year to all; may you have a prosperous 2012 full of joy and laughter.

Like many people, I have an old habit of weeping in the new year.  As soon as the clock strikes midnight and the first notes of “Auld Lang Syne” play, I start bawling like a baby.  It never fails.  I don’t care how many times I hear that song, or how many new years pass, I get choked up and sentimental.  This is why I think “Auld Lang Syne” is quite possibly the saddest song ever written.  The lyrics aren’t that depressing, really, but the music and the way people sing it sort of breaks your heart, doesn’t it?

Here are the lyrics if you ever wondered how the song goes (most people only know the first two verses):

Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
And never brought to mind?
Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
And days o’ lang syne!

For auld lang syne, my dear
For auld lang syne,
We’ll tak a cup o’ kindness yet
For auld lang syne!

We twa hae run about the braes,
And pu’d the gowans fine,
But we’ve wander’d mony a weary foot
Sin’ auld lang syne.

We twa hae paidl’t in the burn
Frae morning sun till dine,
But seas between us braid hae roar’d
Sin’ auld lang syne.

And there’s a hand, my trusty fiere,
And gie’s a hand o’ thine,
And we’ll tak a right guid willie-waught
For auld lang syne!

And surely ye’ll be your pint stoup,
And surely I’ll be mine!
And we’ll tak a cup o’ kindness yet
For auld lang syne!

The story goes that poet Robert Burns wrote the lyrics down in the late 18th century.  He did not take credit for writing it; he gave credit to an old man for giving him the words to “an old song, of the olden days, and which has never been in print, nor even in manuscript….”  And famous band leader Guy Lombardo is often credited for making the song popular at the beginning of the new year, starting in 1929.

The new year is a rebirth, of sorts, for us all.  It gives us a chance to right the wrongs of the previous year and start all over again.  Many of us start resolutions on the 1st (and normally wind up breaking them by the 3rd, if we can last that long).  My resolution is always to see how long it takes me to go back to my old bad habits again.  I never fail!

And being the superstitious person that I am, I bang pots and pans and make a lot of noise at the stroke of midnight to scare away evil spirits; I never spend money on New Year’s Day, and eat nothing but lentils all day long.  Do you have any wacky superstitions that you stick to at this time of year?  What about resolutions?  Which ones are you going to make and inevitably break this year?  Please let me know by commenting below!

Now let’s just hope the conspiracy theories aren’t right and that the world will end before 2013 gets here!  (What a way to end this post, right? haha.)

Related articles

 

Leave a Reply

