Are You Living a Life with No Regrets?

no regrets

Image by Sean MacEntee via Flickr

I find it strange when I see or hear people say “I don’t have any regrets…”  Really?  Are people just kidding themselves when they say something like this, or is it actually possible to live a life with no regrets?  If you’re one of these regret-free people, I’d love to hear from you, maybe get some advice.

I happen to have many regrets—I didn’t take school seriously until I was much older; I didn’t take many relationships seriously, and I especially regret not taking better care of myself when I was younger because now I have a few preventable health problems.  I can go on and on, but I don’t want to wander into sounding too pathetic.

Now while I have a long list of regrets (and that list gets bigger all the time), I don’t try to dwell on them, or let them take over my life.  The past is the past.  I try to recognize the reason I regret doing or saying something and use it as a learning experience, and I certainly try to prevent myself from repeating the same mistakes.  What’s the point in acknowledging you did something wrong if you don’t break the pattern?

The one thing I think everyone should realize is that we are all human.  We all make mistakes.  We’re not perfect, no matter how hard we try.  In short, I am not at all convinced that there are people out there who don’t have any regrets.  How is that even possible?

If you’re beating yourself up over all the regrets you’ve collected over the years, let me make one suggestion:  stop beating yourself up over it.  You can’t go back in time and change things (even though that would be nice), so you have to live for tomorrow and try to do things better the next time.

Is there anything you would like to add to this topic?  Any advice you would like to give?  If there is, please feel free to leave a comment below!  I would love hearing from you.

 

4 Comments

  1. Great thoughts and thanks for referring to one of my posts. Yes, we all have regrets and your comment to not dwell on them is key. I try and consider regrets as opportunities to improve or prevent them from happening again.

    God Bless,
    Brian

    • Yep, I agree with everything you said. Sometimes it’s hard to not dwell on them, but you have to try.

      God Bless you, too, Brian and happy new year 😉

      ~Monique

  2. If there is someone out there who truly has no regrets, it’s likely because they’ve taken no risks. As Elias Canetti said: “One man says he can regret nothing. A god? A stone?”

    • Exactly! Taking risks often results in doing something you regret later on, or at the very least simply thinking about what you could have done different if your risk fails to provide the results you were hoping to get.

Leave a Reply

